Skip to main content

Contact Us

Biomedical Research

Biomedical research projects go to the biomedical office and are reviewed by members of Panels A, B, C, D, and Q. Panels A, B, C, & D review biomedical new studies, revisions and safety/other events. Panel Q reviews biomedical studies that are up for continuing review as well as time sensitive submissions.

Contact Information

Arthur Rubloff Building, 7th Floor
750 N. Lake Shore Dr.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-503-9338

Staff Directory

Biomedical Staff Directory
Name Title Email Phone
Lisa Linn, BA, CIP Associate Director, IRB Operations l-linn@northwestern.edu (312) 503-5368
Lucas Sikorski, BA, CIP Biomedical IRB Manager lsikorski@northwestern.edu (312) 503-6010
Pranjal Patankar, MBBS, MPH, CIP Lead IRB Analyst p-gholkar@northwestern.edu (312) 503-4230
Shannon Bowers, MPH, MS Senior IRB Analyst shannon.bowers@northwestern.edu (312) 503-4251
Sheilah Graham, MPH, CIP Senior IRB Analyst sheilah.graham@northwestern.edu (312) 503-3545
Kevin Puyleart, BS Senior IRB Analyst kevinp@northwestern.edu (312) 503-4225
Saritha Suram, MS, CIP Senior IRB Analyst saritha.suram@northwestern.edu (312) 503-1290
Heather Yates, MPH Senior IRB Analyst heather.yates@northwestern.edu
Liz Barajas, AAS IRB Analyst elizabeth.barajas1@northwestern.edu (312)-503-2698
Edeth Engel, BS IRB Analyst edeth-engel@northwestern.edu (312) 503-8102
Candy Melara, BA IRB Analyst  candy.melara@northwestern.edu (312) 503-2618

 

Social and Behavioral Research

Social and behavioral research projects go to the social and behavioral sciences office and are reviewed by members of Panel E. Panel E reviewers have the appropriate expertise to review social behavioral studies that also include medical procedures but not FDA-regulated research, which must be reviewed by a biomedical panel at NU.

Contact Information

Chambers Hall, 2nd Floor
600 Foster St.
Evanston, IL 60208
847-467-1723
sbsirb@northwestern.edu

Staff Directory

Social and Behavioral Staff Directory
Name Title Email Phone
Lisa Linn, BA, CIP Associate Director, IRB Operations l-linn@northwestern.edu (312) 503-5368
Braden Van Buskirk, MSW, CIP Social and Behavioral IRB Manager b-vanbuskirk@northwestern.edu (847) 491-7588
Rae Mwangi, MPH, CIP Lead IRB Analyst raemwangi@northwestern.edu 847) 467-2899
Beth Irwin, MA, CIP Senior IRB Analyst bethirwin@northwestern.edu (847) 467-1765
Kyle Mullen, PhD, MA IRB Analyst kyle.mullen@northwestern.edu (847) 467-2421

Katie Wright, MPH

IRB Analyst

katherine.wright@northwestern.edu

(847) 467-0024

Drop-In Hours

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all In-person meetings are cancelled and moved to a remote format until further notice. Please email the Social Behavioral IRB Office with questions and/or to register for an appointment during the weekly drop-in hours on zoom. In order to ensure privacy of attendees during these meetings, those who express interest will receive a confirmation email that includes the anticipated time for consultation and zoom link. Attendees will be navigated to a waiting-room in zoom when first joining the meeting.

Drop-In hours are currently being hosted on Wednesdays from 2:30-3:30 pm year-round.

To get on the schedule for drop-in hours for the upcoming week, please email sbsirb@northwestern.edu. Provide your name and specific question/inquiry that you have, and use your Northwestern email account when making the schedule request.

Note that any consultation provided is only advisory in nature and does not take place of formal IRB review.

Other information that may be helpful to review prior to consultation can be found on the IRB website, including Submitting to the IRB, Resources & Guidance, and Human Research Protections Training information (including details about CITI courses).

General Time Frames For Review

All submissions are reviewed in the order received.  As such, turnaround times vary based on volume.  IRB Analysts work diligently to provide efficient, thorough and timely review of research to advance the mission of the Northwestern Office for Research and to ensure the rights and welfare of participants are protected.  One of the most significant ways to reduce the amount of time for review is to limit change requests as well as status requests.  The back and forth requires considerable time, and adds to overall review volume. The following are some tips for submitting a complete and compliant study for review:

  • Review the Submission Information section of the IRB website for specific requirements associated with new study requirements, as well as guidance for modifications, continuing reviews, closures, and RNI’s;
  • Ensure that current templates are used when preparing study documents;
  • Complete the protocol and consent documents with comprehensive and detailed information;
  • Verify that information in the protocol is consistent with consent and other study documents;
  • Recruitment material should contain all of the required elements listed on the recruitment page on the IRB website;
  • Upload all supporting documents, which may include, questionnaires, surveys, approvals/authorizations, study related images/visuals, etc.

Submitting complete, detailed and compliant IRB applications are the best way to reduce turnaround time.

Administration

Staff Directory

Administration Staff Directory
Name Title Email Phone
Nathalia Henry Whitely, MS, CIP, CHRC Executive Director nhenry@northwestern.edu (312) 503-2578
Lisa Linn, BA, CIP Associate Director, IRB Operations l-linn@northwestern.edu (312) 503-5368
Piper Hawkins-Green, MS, CIP Associate Director, IRB Compliance and Reliance piper@northwestern.edu (312) 503-7929
Jaimelyn Bell Mulimbiyi, BA Administrative Assistant 4 jaimelyn.bell@northwestern.edu (312) 503-0826

 

Compliance and Education

The Compliance and Education Unit provides various services to assist researchers to navigate complex federal regulations, state laws, and institutional policies so that innovative research of the highest ethical standards may flourish.

The Compliance and Education Unit ensures compliant research through program oversight, education, and outreach.  Compliance activities include routine and for-cause post-approval monitoring and audits, assistance with reporting, and investigating and responding to participant or researcher inquiries.  Education activities include monthly Brown Bag presentations, human protections research training, and other in-person/virtual training by request.

We aspire to be an asset to the research community as a knowledgeable resource, providing excellent customer service through collaboration and integrity.  Please contact the Compliance and Education Unit if you need assistance with compliance-related problem-solving, regulations or guidance, prepare for an upcoming audit, request training, or assistance with study support tools and guidance.

Contact Information

Arthur Rubloff Building, 7th Floor
750 N. Lake Shore Dr.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-503-9338

Staff Directory

Compliance Staff Directory
Name Title Email Phone
Piper Hawkins-Green, MS, CIP Associate Director, IRB Compliance and Reliance piper@northwestern.edu (312) 503-7929
Alec Henderson, BS, CIP, CHRC IRB Compliance Manager alec.henderson@northwestern.edu (312) 503-5417
Angela Baumgartner, BA Lead IRB Compliance Analyst angela.baumgartner@northwestern.edu (312) 503-4661
Kim Rowan, MBA, CIP Senior IRB Compliance Analyst kim.rowan@northwestern.edu (312) 503-7653
Open Position Senior IRB Compliance Analyst
Nazneen Ali, PhD, CIP HRPP Education and Communication Specialist nazneen.ali@northwestern.edu (312) 503-4175

Reliance

In order to maintain regulatory compliance, and to help facilitate human research initiatives, the Reliance Team provides resources and support for researchers engaging in reliance activities with external collaborators. An Investigator working with OR at multiple institutions, each having its own IRB, may decide to have one IRB serve as the IRB of Record for some or all participating sites. The Reliance Team is responsible for ensuring that reliance activities, and the execution of reliance agreements, is in accordance with Northwestern policy and federal regulations.

Contact Information

Arthur Rubloff Building, 7th Floor
750 N. Lake Shore Dr.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-503-9338

Staff Directory

Reliance Staff Directory
Name Title Email Phone
Piper Hawkins-Green, MS, CIP Associate Director, IRB Compliance and Reliance piper@northwestern.edu (312) 503-7929
Marcella Cooks, MS, CIP IRB Reliance Manager m-oliver2@northwestern.edu (312) 503-6071
Monica Kane, MPH IRB Reliance Analyst monica.kane@northwestern.edu (312) 503-3903

Virtual Office Hours

Do you have reliance, single IRB, or multi-site research questions? The Reliance Team hosts open office hours every Tuesday. You are invited to join the Zoom waiting room and be admitted one-by-one for 10-15 minutes time slots in the order you joined Zoom. Register here!